5th “Hall-Of-Fame” Nominee Class Announced!

5th “Hall-Of-Fame” Nominee Class Announced!

ABU DHABI – Monday, September 2, 2013 - In what is becoming a late summer tradition, the UIM F1 H2O World Championship is saluting its past hero's with the announcement today of selection of nominees for its fifth annual HALL-OF-FAME class and the coveted “Lap of Honor” Award for 2013.

“It's always exciting to take a new look at the people well deserving of being placed in the permanent HALL-OF-FAME for what they have contributed over the years in making this sport so great,” stated the President of H2O Racing Powerboat Promotions and head of the UIM F1 H2O World Championship Nicolo di San Germano.

“This four decade sport that is celebrating it's 250th Grand Prix event at the upcoming Grand Prix of China in Liuzhou on the first and second of October has had 189 different drivers from 37 various countries over the past four decades test their courage and determination in one of the worlds most challenging sports.

 I'm proud of everyone who's been involved in taking up the challenge on and off the water and this year we have a very special group of individuals that I know everyone will feel strongly about earning their place in the Hall-OF-FAME one way or another.”

The Lap of Honor Trophy is open to all personnel who have made special contributions to the sport including, drivers, team managers, mechanics, designers, promoters and press persons who have be judged to have gone “above and beyond” for the success and continuation of the world's most challenging sport on water, the UIM F1 H2O World Championship series.

The official ballot will be placed in a short time on the homepage of the official website of the UIM F1 H2O World Championship www.f1h2o.com and web viewers will get their chance to cast their vote for their two favorite legends who will then be honored at the “Year End Gala” on the 13th of December in Sharjah, UAE.

The election of the new Hall-of-Fame members will stay open until the first day of November giving people ample time to cast their vote for the two most deserving to be enshrined.

Already elected in the Hall are: 2009: Renato Molinari  (I) and Bill Seebold  (USA); 2010: Fred Hauenstein  (USA) and Scott Gillman  (USA); 2011: Siegfried “Ziggy” Boettle  (USA) and Charlie Strang  (USA); 2012: Cees Van der Velden  (NED) and David Parkinson  (UK).

Here are the three recipients for the 5 th Annual HALL OF FAME Lap of Honor Trophy for 2013:

1 - Guido Cappellini (ITA)
2 - Bob Spalding (UK)
3 - John Hill (UK)

View Profile of Candidates here


Promo Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi
Clip Grand Prix of China 2015
UIM F1H2O World Championship
Qatar QAT Doha Mar 14 C
France FRA Evian Jun 28 C
Portugal POR Porto Aug 2 C
China CHN Liuzhou Oct 2 C
UAE UAE Abu Dhabi Dec 11 C
UAE UAE Sharjah Dec 18 C
UIM Nations Cup
Qatar QAT Doha Mar 11 C
date and venue could be changed

H2O Magazine
Photo Pro
Grand Prix of China
01 Philippe Chiappe  
02 Thani Al Qamzi + 7.00 secs
03 Sami Selio + 11.46 secs
Fastest Lap
Philippe Chiappe 0:44.86
Pole Position
Philippe Chiappe 0:50.61
Raceboat International
Sparco JAS
H2O Racing